Mrs. Jones Pound Cake

10 Sep

When I went searching for a special recipe to share I came across this one, It came from a lovely woman that has now passed away.  When I started baking and decorating cakes I always said that I would not make it a habit of decorating other peoples baked cakes but when Mrs. Jones came to me with her request I couldn’t turn her down.  You see this was the only cake her elderly Mother would eat.  So each year on her Mother’s birthday she would bring me her baked cake to be decorated. Later on after her Mother had passed away and she herself was getting older and didn’t bake  anymore she shared her recipe with me. Now I can share it with you. 

MRS. JONES POUND CAKE

3 cups sugar

1 cup butter

1/2 cup Crisco

3 cups sifted plain flour

6 large eggs

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon lemon extract

    Cream butter, crisco, & sugar -beat well, add eggs one at a time and beat. Add flour alternatly with milk. Do not over beat. Stir in flavorings

    Bake 350 in greased 10′ tube pan 1 HR & 15 Min.

Leave Me A Comment

